Writing SFF in the Resistance

57 thoughts on “Writing SFF in the Resistance”

  1. This was very inspirational, it gave me the idea that writing just might help with the emotions and feelings I currently have.

    1. my mother passed away December 7, last month, I am so lost, this is encouraging for me as a journalist, a griever and an activist. I’m having a difficult time putting these feelings into words and into feelings. Thank you. Been trying to write the blog I started, got lost.

      1. @justceleste: hang on in there! pin something on your blog that makes your heart sing, it will help.. your sense of direction will come back to you. all the best!

  2. Perfectly put! Often in times of difficulty it’s the creative world which blooms. People need an ideal to aim for, and a world to escape to, with characters to strive to be.

    Writers always reflect their context – I believe that the coming years will produce some of the most profound art.

  3. hope youse do write! writers have foreseen, influenced, warned and sustained us in the past and we will need of of that in a future that seems more ready to divide and take up physical action instead of arming themselves with the right code of conduct. time for quote again: https://blaustift.wordpress.com/2016/11/10/ideas-we-have-about-the-future/
    we need to aspire to higher aims and better places – and as we’re all sitting in the same boat – or spaceship – we’d better get along and make most of this precious diversity that is ours!

      1. such a brilliant, sweet, lovely and sharp-witted and humble man! climbing up Kili in a rhino costume. do you know ‘Last chance to see’? I heartily recommend it. We need more of the likes of him. Hope you find it less painful to write than he apparently did.

  4. As a Browncoat I’m strictly against the Alliance lol. I don’t know about everyone else but my future is looking pretty bright but I lstill vie reading about dystopian futures like Lord Valentines Castle and the Time Machine. The only one I hated was Huxley? I like this article though because this is the reason we write.

  5. Wow this was marvelous….despite the overlooking Sadness of the theme, the writing was still able to hint on an unforseen but forthcoming hope that it’ll get better. I just started with this blogging thing and reading your bogs give me hope that I might just get the hang of it in no time.

  6. YEA!! This is the punk-rock “down with the broken system” blended with the SF lit “here’s how we fight for a better world” post we need! ✊✌

  7. Brilliant. Just brilliant. Came across your wisdom at just the right time. Been considering the similar view on recent events. Reblogged this at PetraEngisch.wordpress.com. Thank you!

  8. I certainly sympathised with your piece, but don’t you think the current evil empire has been built by people who thought of themselves as rebels? That would make a good basis for a story, a relatively benign empire headed by a decent, erudite man, overthrown by a bunch of crazy rebels.

      1. whatever you may call them, they are headed by Agent Orange who’ll be doing his best to make the remaining leaves fall off the trees…

      2. Yes I agree, but they think of themselves as rebels, and rebellion was the the way the whole thing as sold. I enjoyed your piece – I just think there’something to be explored there.

      1. Hmmm… totally wanting a nice Iron Giant. But we got Blade Runner bots, I-robots, the Governator himself Terminator…Arnie on Celebrity Apprentice for reals… after all the hacking… so then what I mean is… what is Alexa doing in everyone’s home?
        I don’t want a Jetson’s cartoon come true!
        Or stepford wife bots…
        But I was asking someone the other day what does science fiction do now since it all came true and we can’t escape? So this article actually rocks, cuz I was pining for some happy sci-fi utopian types…like we can still be okay even in trump world.
        I don’t believe we are okay right now. But I am still
        hopeful. 🙂

Share your thoughts, cuz I'm not just writing to hear myself talk....

